Nigeria Vs Argentina: Super Eagles starting XI, Gernor Rohr switches to 3-5-2


Super Eagles

Super Eagles boss for the first time is using a three-man defence system.

Super Eagles boss Gernot Rohr has switched to a 3-5-2 formation for the friendly game against Argentina on Tuesday, November 14.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria will take on Argentina in their first international friendly ahead of the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

For the game, Rohr recalls Captain John Mikel Obi and also includes Nantes defender Chidozie Awaziem.

Mikel did not play in their 1-1 draw against Algeria on Friday, November 10 while Awaziem has not kicked a ball for the Super Eagles since that shocking 2-0 home loss to South Africa back in June.

ALSO READ: Confusion over Super Eagles new jersey

Awaziem joins the ‘Oyinbo Wall’ partnership of Leon Balogun and William Ekong-Troost in a three-man defence.

Shehu Abdullahi and Ola Aina are the wing-backs.

In midfield are Wilfred Ndidi, John Ogu and Mikel while Alex Iwobi and Kelechi Iheanacho lead the attack.

This is the first time Rohr will be using the three-man defence since he became Super Eagles boss.

The three-man defence became more popular in the modern game following Antonio Conte's success with Chelsea who won the 2017 Premier League title.


After back to back defeats against Liverpool and Arsenal in September 2016, Conte switched to the system which has been his favourite and converted Nigeria's Victor Moses to right-wing.

Following Chelsea's success with the system, the likes of Arsene Wenger, Jose Mourinho and even Pep Guardiola have adopted it.

This is however not the first time a coach will be adopting this system with the Super Eagles.


Back in 1997, then Super Eagles coach Philippe Troussier used it during the qualifiers for the 1998 FIFA World Cup and although he was successful with it, the Frenchman was sacked because the system was against Nigeria's football philosophy.

Super Eagles starting XI Vs Argentina

Daniel Akpeyi, Troost-Ekong, Balogun, Awaziem, Shehu, Aina, Ndidi, Mikel Obi, John Ogu, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi

Subs: Ezenwa, Uzoho, Musa, Kayode, Ebuehi, Etebo, Agbo, Nwakali, Omeruo, Onyekuru, Nwakaeme, Idowu